Cilantro & Lime Shrimp Salad (Costco)

The cilantro lime shrimp salad is one of my favorite from Costco, but its price is growing faster than my salary. One day I fond this recipe using lemongrass to make this salad and immediately fell in love. If you know me in person you would know I never follow a recipe strictly. I follow my heart ^_^.

This was my first dish using lemongrass. I fond this ingredient pretty remarkable, because it smells like lemon but taste like ginger.

(Cannot find the original recipe, but will link it once I do)

Ingredients:

1 lb, Costco U-20 framed black tiger prawn. /my mom loves this product, it has a good texture and wont shrink after cooking. We are from Qingdao and we know what high quality seafood taste like. No debate./

Lemongrass. /I got mine from the United Noodles (an asian store in Minneapolis). You can also get them from Lunds but it will cost you a fortune for the same quantity./

Cilantro, 1/2 lime (juiced), garlic cloves, ground black pepper, olive oil. /I tried to substitute lime with sushi vinegar and it turned out just fine./

Optional: salt, cayenne pepper, parsley … /I find the cooked shrimp salty enough for me. Add salt if you are used to high sodium intake./

Directions:

Cook your shrimps. In a soup pot, bring water to boil, add the shrimp under high heat and stir until the water just to boil again. /Watch the water around the edge of the pot. Wait until it start to bubble. Forming is not good enough./

Drain the water, cool your shrimp and remove the shell. Meanwhile, mince the garlic cloves, lemon grass and mix with other ingredients except the cilantro. Let it sit in the room temperature for a few minutes. Chop the cilantro separately.

Place the chopped cilantro on top of the shrimp and pour the mixture.

Mix. /When i’m preparing my lunch for the next day, I just put everything in my lunch box and shake./

Chill the salad for a couple of hours.

Enjoy.

 

Leave a comment